There may be times when users who are not participating in a Huddle need to be mentioned and automatically invited to participate in the Huddle. There are 2 settings in More Huddle Settings for Collaboration Huddles that will allow non-Participants to be invited into a Huddle when mentioned.


Who is this article for?

Based on the default user settings in the Sibme platform, you should have permission to complete this task if you are one of the user levels listed below. If you do not see the screens in this article, you can ask your Sibme account administrator if you have permission.

  • Users

  • Admin

  • Super Admin

  • Account Owner


Steps to accomplish the task:

When creating a Collaboration Huddle, there are 2 settings on the More Huddle Settings page that have to do with how mentions are handled.

  1. “@mention non-Huddle Members”: This setting is on by default and allows the Huddle Creator and Owners to automatically invite Participants who are not in the Huddle into the Huddle when they are mentioned. So, if Jane Smith is not a Participant in a Collaboration Huddle and an Owner of that Huddle mentions Jane, if this setting is turned on, then Jane would be invited into the Huddle and she will be notified that she was mentioned.

  2. “Allow participants to @mention non-Huddle members”: This setting allows huddle Members to automatically invite non-Participants into a Huddle by @mentioning them. “@mentions non-Huddle Members” needs to be on for this setting to be turned on and this setting is turned off by default.

Additionally, "More Huddle Settings" can also be accessed and updated by the Creator and/or the Owner of the existing Collaboration Huddle by editing the Huddle.

What’s Next:

Did this answer your question?