Blurring videos is a great way to protect the privacy of your students and individuals in a video. Sibme’s AI-powered Biometric detection system automatically detects the face of the teacher in a video and then blurs all other faces in the video, all with the click of a button. There is also an option to blur all faces in the video, including the teacher.
In order to use the Blur Video feature, please complete the Biometric Screening in your User Settings.
You can only blur videos in your Workspace. However, once you have run blurring on your video, you can share the video anywhere else in the Sibme platform and the faces will remain blurred.
Running the blur feature on your video creates a copy of the original video with blurred faces. Your original video will remain unblurred.
You can also download a blurred video for sharing outside of Sibme and the blurring will remain.
Blur Video is not available on Sibme’s mobile apps.
Who is this article for?
Based on the default user settings in the Sibme platform, you should have permission to complete this task if you are one of the user levels listed below. If you do not see the screens in this article, you can ask your Sibme account administrator if you have permission.
Steps to complete this task
After completing your Biometric Screening, navigate to your Workspace on the web version of Sibme.
Click on the . . . more menu for any video and select Blur
There are 2 ways to blur videos:
Make a selection and then click the green “Job Submit” button.
Blurring will begin automatically. You will see a new copy of your video in your Workspace with “-blur-” after the title. Depending on the length of your video, blurring might take some time to complete. Feel free to navigate away from your Workspace or leave Sibme completely. You can return to your Workspace later to view your blurred video and share it to other parts of Sibme.
Once you have blurred your video, you can delete the unblurred version from your Workspace if you like. You can also download the blurred copy of your video from Sibme and facial blurring will remain.
What is facial blurring?
Facial blurring is an AI-powered tool available in certain Sibme accounts. It uses biometric data to detect the teacher in the video file and then blurs the faces of all other people in the video. All students (and anyone else captured in the video) will be automatically blurred in the video file. If the teacher does not share their biometric data in user settings, the teacher’s face will also be blurred.
Who can blur faces on a video?
Face blurring is only available on videos in the private and secure Workspace. That means that the user who records or uploads a video to their private workspace will be the only user who can blur faces on the video. This further protects the privacy of students, since the person capturing the video file will be the only person who sees the unblurred version of the video in their workspace.
What should I do with my unblurred video after I run face blurring?
Blurring faces on a video file creates a copy of the original video with faces blurred. Because the unblurred copy of the video is in a user’s private and secure Workspace, no one else will be able to see it. You can delete the unblurred copy of the video from Sibme to guarantee that no one will see it.
How long does it take to blur videos?
Facial blurring does take time to process on our servers. The amount of time it takes to blur a video depends on the length of the video itself.
Will my downloaded video be blurred?
Yes! If you choose to download a video file from Sibme that has been blurred, the faces will remain blurred in the downloaded file.